The Quiescence Trilogy

By Kathryn Knowles

Check in here for updates about the fantasy trilogy! Scroll down for a FREE Short Story Prelude.


The Relics of Illayan

Book I of the Quiescence Trilogy

In the stillness, a power wakes.

Caerlon is a kingdom where the power of Resonance has long been bound to a single bloodline, a single all-powerful ruler.

Now, for the first time in centuries, the magic has been divided.

On the night of the new king’s coronation, something causes his magic to fracture, and Catanya, a young woman living on the outskirts of Caerlon discovers the long-kept secret of her connection to the throne.

Driven mad by his lust for power, King Cadyan sends his soldiers to hunt her down. He is determined to reclaim his birthright and uncover the truth about the legendary Relics of Illayan, which could hold the key to eternal power and immortality.

On the run, terrified and alone, Catanya must decide how—or even if—she can wield the magic of Caerlon to protect herself and save everyone she loves.


The Warrior Queen

Book II of the Quiescence Trilogy

From the stillness, a hero rises.

Catanya has escaped to the Kingdom of Awnell. Inside Awnell’s towering fortress city, she meets Queen Ayr, a freethinking and cunning leader intent on safeguarding her people’s liberty. Unsure who to trust, and still grappling with her untamed magic, Catanya must learn what it means to be a warrior.

Miles away, Diyah’s strength is tested as new allies emerge and old secrets unravel. Torn between fear and curiosity, she begins to suspect that nothing is as it seems in Caerlon.

As the division between brother and sister threatens to ignite a centuries old conflict between kingdoms, both Catanya and Diyah must decide what price they are willing to pay for freedom.

New dangers approach and mysterious legends surface in the second installment of the Quiescence Trilogy.

The Last Verratrí

A Short Story Prelude to the Quiescence Trilogy

The Last Verratrí follows Drayk, a young man living on the streets of Awnell City, who uses his wits and charm to stay alive. When he finds himself in over his head, he’s given a choice that will change the course of his life forever.

Available Now!

Success! You're on the list.